Foods to Avoid on the Paleo Vegan Diet

Foods to Avoid on the Paleo Vegan Diet

The following list of Foods to Avoid on a Paleo Vegan Diet is a compilation based upon the fundamental tenets of avoiding post-agricultural foods while maintaining a strict no-meat ethos.

 

foods to avoid on the paleo vegan dietMeat and Dairy

Whether the basis for its exclusion is over ethical concerns, health concerns, or animal welfare concerns, the Paleo Vegan Diet does not include meat in any form, including fish, poultry, pork, shellfish, game meat, or eggs.  Dairy is not included in the Paleo Vegan Diet for the same reasons that Honey is not included in the diet as it is an exploitative food.

 

avoiding grains on the paleo vegan dietGrains

Grains are widely considered a ‘Neolithic’ food, meaning they are post-agricultural era foods. Current research also suggests that grains have been found to playing a substantial role in the development of autoimmune and other inflammatory diseases. Disallowed Paleo Vegan Diet grains include wheat, barley, rye, corn, rice, and oats and pseudo-grains like quinoa, teff, buckwheat, and amaranth.

 

legumes not allowed on the paleo vegan dietLegumes

Like grains, legumes are also a ‘Neolithic’ food and are not part of the Paleo Vegan Diet. They have also been implicated in aggravating conditions like IBS, and have properties that reduce bioavailability of nutrients in foods. Typically grown in monoculture, environmental and ethical concerns surround the consumption of legumes. These include lentils, soy, peanuts, and beans.

 

oils not allowed on the paleo vegan dietOils

Disallowed oils in the Paleo Vegan Diet include those which are unstable and easily oxidized from ‘Neolithic’ crops, that rely heavily on processing techniques that often require chemical solvents to extract the oils. Disallowed Paleo Vegan Diet oils include canola oil, vegetable oil, corn oil, soybean oil, and safflower oil.

 

paleo vegan diet alcoholAlcohol

While alcohols like tequila, potato and grape vodka, and kombucha beers are permitted on the Paleo Vegan Diet, no alcohol from Neolithic grains or exploitative ingredients are permitted. This includes beer, and grain alcohols like scotch, sake, malt liquors, and alcohol from honey such as mead.

 

sweeteners not allowed on a paleo vegan dietSweeteners

Foods to Avoid on the Paleo Vegan Diet include sweeteners which are produced by neolithic grains like brown rice syrup, corn syrup; artificial sweeteners such as Aspartame and Neotame which were created in the laboratory; and natural yet still exploitative sweeteners such as honey.

Share

Foods to Avoid on the Paleo Vegan Diet

Discussion

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *